Human Organ Systems

The human body consists of 11 different organ systems. I will briefly describe each one.

Circulatory system- transports oxygenated and non-oxygenated blood through your body. This includes your heart, blood vessels, and arteries

Respiratory system- allows air to diffuse into your lungs and then can be transported around your body via the circulatory system. This includes your trachea, bronchi, aveloli, and lungs

Digestive system- brings in food for your body to use for energy. This includes esophagus, stomach, small intestine, large intestine

Excretory system- responsible for getting rid of waste that is in the body. This includes the kidneys and bladder

Nervous system- responsible for sending messages around the body. Controls all of your body’s movements and responses. This includes neurons, brain, and spinal cord

Endocrine system- uses hormones to send chemical messages in the body. This includes hypothalamus, thalamus and pituitary gland, and various other glands in your body

Immune system- protects your body from foreign or unfamiliar units. This includes lymphocytes, white blood cells

Integumentary system- your skin, hair, nails

Skeletal system- these support your body and include all of the bones in your body

Muscular system- this system allows your body to move, breathe, digest, and heart to pump. This includes all of your muscles

Reproductive system- this system is required for the production of offspring. This includes the sex organs; ovaries, uterus/testes, seminal vesicles


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s